Time Out….

After 12 straight weeks of running 3 days a week, I finally had to take some time off!  I was not pleased about it, thats for sure, but I figured it was the best thing for the long run (pun intended).

I noticed after my last run, that my body was a little sore in a few different places (hips, feet, EGO) but I figured I would work through it as I had been doing.  NO ONE  does the entire C25K program and not get a little sore along the way!  I warmed up for my next run and then started in…I only made it about .6 of a mile when I realized my legs were NOT moving like they should be and boy did it hurt.  Basically right in the hips on both sides was tight and sore.

So I did what I had read about running..”Listen to your body!”  and it was saying it needed some time to heal.  I can now say that after 6 days off I feel much better and I am really looking forward to my runs this week.  I sure wish I had started running when I was younger…it would have been nice to do this when my body could recover quicker, but I guess I have to learn to live with an overweight (this I can do something about…I am down 60 lbs so far!), 46 year old body (not much I can do about this) and the limitations that come with it.

About ZekeRunning

My name is Harry, I am 46 years old living in Mesa, AZ. I work in Retail Management and I am an Aspiring Amateur Home Chef. I weigh too much (getting less by the day), work too much and I wasn’t getting any exercise! I had to do something…and I chose to start running!
This entry was posted in Running and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Time Out….

  1. Ah, I did the same this week, actually. I ran 20 miles last week and haven’t run since. Today I’ll run at least 14 and then see how this tired old body feels. Sometimes we gotta give the body the rest it was craving, you know?

    • ZekeRunning says:

      LOL…Your one run will be more then my total miles next week! I hate that the mind is willing but the body can’t keep up as well as it used to. It is amazing to me how much I have actually missed running this week. I needed the rest but I sure wanted to be out there. 13 weeks ago I never would have believed I could miss running. Thanks again!

  2. Pingback: What A Difference A Day (Or Seven) Makes | ZekeRunning

Leave a Reply

