Why Do You Run?

Four simple little words that, depending on who is asking and the tone/emphasis, can be asking for many different reasons. Curiosity, disbelief, sarcasm are all possibilities.  When coming from one runner to another I believe it is a much deeper question, a question about motivation, desire and heart.

If you asked 100 different runners, I bet you would get 100 different answers.  Taking it even further, if you were to ask the same runners at different stages of their running life, you would get different answers from the same people at the various stages.  The answer evolves as do we as human beings

I was asked when I first started running 9 weeks ago “Why do you run?”  My answer was simple..I wanted to get in better shape.  After the 9 short weeks I have been running, if you now were to ask me “Why do you run?” my answer would be different, varied and more evolved. “I run because I can, because I love to, because I can’t imagine not running…Because I Am A Runner.”  Who knows what the answer will be in 9 months?

So…Why Do You Run?

Next Up: Where Do You Run?

About ZekeRunning

My name is Harry, I am 46 years old living in Mesa, AZ. I work in Retail Management and I am an Aspiring Amateur Home Chef. I weigh too much (getting less by the day), work too much and I wasn’t getting any exercise! I had to do something…and I chose to start running!
This entry was posted in Running and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Why Do You Run?

  1. I started running as I was getting older, and was done with team oriented sports. I wanted something I could do on my own time, based on my own schedule. Running fit. After a few months, I heard about the Goofy Challenge in WDW, and I was further motivated to train over the next several months. It’s been a while now since completing the challenge, but I still run. I enjoy the solitude it gives me. The time to be on my own, enjoying the outdoors, away from my busy life.

  2. ZekeRunning says:

    Thank you for comment. I know what you mean about an event motivating you. After I got over the initial shock of finding out I actually do enjoy running, I decided to train for a couple of 5ks in my area the next couple of months. I do love the time away running provides. Just waiting for the time when I can sort of run and tune out to everything instead of thinking about the running. My endurance is not there yet.

Leave a Reply

